The binaural sound or 3D Sound with headphones

​​"We've got two ears able to perceive any sound in space, whatever its origin, proximity or distance. Unlike the view that remains essentially frontal.

Listening stereo, is like hearing sounds coming from one ear to the other, but everything stays inside the cranial box, on a straight line passing through the brain.

With 3D Sounds headphones concert, everything changes. It becomes possible to occupy all the space both in and around the head, adding the near/far and high/down impression. And those impressions are particularly enhanced.

Everyone who have lived this new experience have a hard time going back, because a 3D Sound with headphones is an incredible trip in all directions, inside and outside.

To understand, only one option: come, see, listen.

So, see you soon for the next concert of Sliding Words, have a good trip."

by Jean-François Bau

Intro + We Are Not So Different (After All) - Sliding Words
00:00 / 00:00

Examples to listen .... 

                     with your headphone :-)

      ... Yes, any headphone

Interlude Subermé (3D) by Bau - Sliding Words & JF Bau
00:00 / 00:00

Jean-François Bau

 ​Thanks to Jean-François Bau, who accompagnies our project with  3D Sound spatialisation. He has realized 3D several soundscapes, that you might hear in our "live concert" of {fonetic}, during the transitions between our songs.

Jean-François Bau "make some sound" from the middle of the 60's, sound design for theater pieces, classic danse and contemporary, art-perfomance. He's using diffusion modes from binaural to sounds spatialized in 3D relief, to multicast like acousmonium.

In 1976, he represented the video cooperative of Montreal (Toronto) for the first international festival of art performance. He collaborated with various institutions, like recently Orange-Lab and the cluster Imaginove, for research work, diffusion or publication on spatialized sound fields, acousmatic and evolutions to come in the cinema, 4 and 5D rooms, in games and virtual reality.

He's organizing regularly some "Tables rondes" (open discussions) or meeting workshops on those subjects.

He's been a member of the "administrative council" of "La Semaine du Son" ("the Sound Week") during 6 years and organized or coordinated about 50 various events under SDS Label in the ARA (Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) county. He is co-writer of the UNESCO Sound Charter.

He is member of the "AES", Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Inventory.

Le son binaural ou son 3D au casque

"Nous avons deux oreilles, avec elles et notre cerveau nous sommes capables de percevoir n’importe quel son dans l’espace, quel que soit sa provenance, proximité ou éloignement. Contrairement à la vue qui reste essentiellement frontale. Assister à un concert, c’est privilégier essentiellement tout ce qui se passe devant, contrairement par exemple au cinéma où nous sommes généralement enveloppés par le son.

Écouter de la stéréo au casque, c’est entendre des sons qui peuvent se promener d’une oreille à l’autre, mais tout reste à l’intérieur de la boite crânienne, le long d’un fil droit qui traverse le cerveau.

Avec un concert et des sons en 3D au casque, tout change. Il devient possible d’occuper tout l’espace à la fois dans et autour de la tête en ajoutant le proche-lointain et le haut-bas. En plus les notions de proximité ou d’éloignement sont particulièrement renforcées.

Tous ceux qui ont vécu cette expérience nouvelle ont du mal à revenir en arrière, parce qu’un son en 3D au casque est un incroyable voyage tous azimuts, à la fois dans et à l’extérieur de soi. Pour comprendre, une seule solution, venir, voir, écouter.

Donc à très bientôt pour le prochain concert de Sliding Words, bon voyage."

by Jean-François Bau

Intro + We Are Not So Different (After All) - Sliding Words
00:00 / 00:00

Exemples à écouter .... 

                     Au Casque :-)

          ... oui, n'importe quel casque

Interlude Subermé (3D) by Bau - Sliding Words & JF Bau
00:00 / 00:00

Jean-François Bau

"Merci à Jean-François Bau, qui accompagne notre projet concernant la spatialisation sonore 3D. Il a notamment réalisé plusieurs paysages sonores 3D que vous pouvez entendre dans nos "concerts Live" de {fonetic}, lors des transitions entre nos chansons" (Sliding Words)

Jean-François Bau “fait du son“ depuis le milieu des années 60, mise en scène acoustique pour le théâtre, la danse classique et contemporaine, l’art-performance. Il pratique des modes de diffusion ou d’interprétation allant du binaural au son spatialisé en relief 3D à multidiffusion de type acousmonium.

En 1976, il a représenté la coopérative de vidéo de Montréal à Toronto, pour le premier festival international d’art performance. Il a collaboré avec diverses institutions, dont plus récemment avec Orange-Lab et le cluster Imaginove, pour des travaux de recherche, de diffusion ou de publication sur les domaines du son spatialisé, de l’acousmatique et des évolutions à venir au cinéma, les salles 4 et 5D, dans les jeux et la réalité virtuelle.

Il organise régulièrement des tables rondes ou des ateliers rencontre sur ces sujets.

Il a été membre du CA de la Semaine du Son pendant 6 années et a organisé ou coordonnée une cinquantaine d’événements variés sous l’étiquette SDS en région ARA. Il est co-rédacteur de la charte du son de l’UNESCO.

Il est membre de l’AES, de l’Inventaire Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes.